Breadcrumb

Project management
Digital translation tools and dictionaries have become an indispensable part of language use. DeepL, Leo and Co. are used extensively and for various purposes, however, their benefits for foreign language teaching and learning remain contested. Some consider these tools to be of educational value, while others express their doubts on the sustainability of their contribution to language learning.

Project management
Vocabulary is the basis for receptive and productive language use. Influential theories on second language acquisition and learning consider vocabulary and grammar to be complementary, rather than opposing elements of language. Vocabulary is viewed as an integral component of learner grammars that is worth promoting and consolidating in the foreign language classroom. In recent years, digitialisation has seen the development of many learning apps and platforms that provide new opportunities...

Project management

Supervision
Thomas Studer

Team

(Santi Guerrero Calle research manager till August 2021)

Comparatively little research has been conducted on how adult migrants – both those with low literacy skills (non-literates) and those who have competence in a non-Latin alphabet (non-roman alphabet literates) – acquire reading and writing skills, and scholarly findings on the subject are correspondingly sparse. This condition is all the more surprising as specialist discourse on the topic of “literacy levels in adults” has long revealed that traditional differentiations between so-called...

Evolution of patois in French-speaking Switzerland

Predictions regarding vitality, the linguistic system and language practices
Project management
In 2018, Switzerland recognized Franco-Provençal and Franc-Comtois (spoken in French-speaking Switzerland) as minority languages within the meaning of the European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages. Their varieties are designated under the term patois, up until now they have primarily been the subject of dialectological description.

Language exchange activities are widely viewed as a means of promoting language and intercultural competence and as a way to motivate students to learn a foreign language. Indeed,  recently, educational policy has strengthened its commitment to advance and intensify language exchange.

Immersion and bilingual education programmes in Switzerland

A critical literature review and bibliographic database
In Switzerland, language immersion and bilingual education programmes have been both promoted and in demand for quite some time. The topic has also been the focus of numerous scholarly studies that, however, are not always known or accessible. In addition, there is a degree of uncertainty about which findings can be compared or generalised. This project aims to collect existing scholarly literature and documentation and to analyse the information according to theme.

Project management

Direction (ad int.): Center for Teachers’ Language Competences (PHSG, SUPSI, HEP VD, UNIL)

Team

In cooperation with PH FHNW, PH Luzern and PH St Gallen

The aim of this project is the empirically-based development of assessments to test the profession-specific language skills in teachers of French, English and Italian as a foreign language in primary and secondary schools.

Mapping developmental profiles in early language learning at school

Assessment tools as a link between education standards, curricula, teaching and learning
Project management

Supervision: Thomas Studer, Wilfrid Kuster, Mirjam Egli (PHSG), Gé Stoks (SUPSI/DFA)

Team

Anna Kull, Thomas Roderer (PHSG), Daniela Kappler (SUPSI/DFA)

In collaboration with the University of Teacher Education St. Gallen (PHSG) and the Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI)  

Project management

Supervision: Thomas Studer

There is little verified, i.e. empirically based knowledge about how second-language courses should be best designed to meet the specific needs of adult learners in low-threshold language courses. The aim of this project was to integrate didactic elements that are promising particularly for learners without a strong educational background into a course design (including course materials) suitable for daily use. In addition, the actual effects and results were compared with a course design...

Project management

Supervision: Thomas Studer

In the spring of 2017, the CDIP/EDK assessed for the first time the basic skills in the first foreign language of schoolchildren at the end of primary school. On the basis of this assessment, the “Passepartout cantons” (the six cantons on the French-German language border) are investigating how well the targets were achieved in French. The Research Centre on Multilingualism has the responsibility of developing test tasks for this purpose, and the project Task Lab was conducted in the...

Fil d'Ariane

Direction de projet
Equipe
Les outils de traduction et les dictionnaires en ligne sont devenus des éléments indispensables dans l'utilisation des langues. DeepL, Leo et Cie forment des exemples connus d’outils employés activement par leurs utilisateurs à des fins diverses. Cependant, le rôle de ces outils dans l'enseignement des langues étrangères est contesté : d'une part, on considère qu'ils ont un potentiel pédagogique, d'autre part, on doute qu'ils puissent soutenir l'apprentissage des langues à long terme...

Direction de projet
Equipe
Le vocabulaire est à la base de l'utilisation réceptive et productive de la langue. Dans les théories sur l’acquisition/l’apprentissage du langage et les approches didactiques dominantes, le vocabulaire, loin de s’opposer à la grammaire, est un élément constitutif central et intégré de la grammaire de l’apprenant-e. L’apprentissage et la consolidation du vocabulaire jouent donc un rôle important dans l'enseignement des langues étrangères, un domaine pour la mise en œuvre duquel les technologies...

Direction de projet

Supervision
Thomas Studer

Equipe

(responsable de projet jusqu'en août 2021)

Faisant l’objet de peu d’études en comparaison avec d’autre thématiques, la recherche sur l’acquisition de la langue écrite chez les migrant-e-s adultes, qu'ils soient peu ou pas alphabétisés (analphabètes) ou qu'ils aient des compétences dans un système d'écriture non latin (apprenant-e-s d'une langue seconde) comporte encore de grandes lacunes.

Evolution des patois en Suisse romande

Prédictions de vitalité, système linguistique et pratiques langagières
Direction de projet
Reconnus en 2018 comme langue minoritaire par la Suisse, au sens de la Charte européenne des langues régionales ou minoritaires, le francoprovençal et le franc-comtois de Suisse romande, dont les variétés sont désignées par le terme patois, ont surtout fait jusqu'ici l'objet de descriptions dialectologiques. Actuellement, de nombreuses questions touchant à l'évolution de la langue et de ses pratiques préoccupent les locuteurs·trices mais aussi les pouvoirs publics. Elles portent sur...

Les échanges linguistiques sont considérés comme un moyen de promouvoir les compétences linguistiques et interculturelles, et d'accroître la motivation pour l'apprentissage des langues étrangères. Depuis quelques années, les politiques éducatives renforcent leur engagement en faveur de la diffusion et de l’intensification des activités d'échange.

Immersion et enseignement bilingue en Suisse

Revue de la littérature critique & base de données bibliographique
Direction de projet
Depuis un certain temps, l'enseignement immersif et l’enseignement bilingue sont revendiqués et encouragés en Suisse. Même si de nombreuses études scientifiques existent déjà sur le sujet, elles ne sont pas toujours connues ou accessibles et il est parfois difficile de savoir quels résultats sont comparables ou généralisables. Le présent projet a pour but de rassembler la littérature et la documentation scientifique existantes, et d’en faire une évaluation thématique.

Direction de projet

Direction (a.i.) : Centre pour les compétences langagières des enseignants (HEP St.Gall, SUPSI, HEP VD, UNI)

Equipe

Coopération avec la FHNW, la HEP de Lucerne et la HEP de St. Gall

L’objectif de ce projet est le développement empirique de tests visant à évaluer les compétences langagières spécifiques à la profession des enseignants du primaire et du secondaire 1, pour les langues étrangères français et anglais.

Recensement de profils de développement dans l’apprentissage précoce des langues étrangères à l’école

Des instruments d’évaluation en tant que lien entre standards, programmes scolaires, enseignement et apprentissage
Direction de projet

Supervision: Thomas Studer, Wilfrid Kuster, Mirjam Egli (PHSG), Gé Stoks (SUPSI/DFA)

Equipe

Anna Kull, Thomas Roderer (PHSG), Daniela Kappler (SUPSI/DFA)

En collaboration avec la Haute école pédagogique de St. Gallen (PHSG) et la Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI)

Direction de projet

Supervision: Thomas Studer

Il existe peu de connaissances empiriques quant à la façon dont devrait être conçu l’enseignement destiné spécifiquement à un public suivant des cours à bas seuil de langue seconde. Le but de ce projet était donc d’intégrer des éléments didactiques, particulièrement prometteurs pour un public peu habitué au milieu scolaire, dans un concept de cours adapté à la réalité quotidienne et d’y associer le matériel didactique adéquat, pour en comparer les effets dans la pratique avec un concept...

Direction de projet

Supervision: Thomas Studer

Au printemps 2017, la CDIP fera évaluer pour la première fois les compétences de base des écoliers dans leur première langue étrangère, ceci à la fin de l’école primaire. Sur la base de ces données, les cantons impliqués dans le projet « Passepartout » (les six cantons situés à la frontière linguistique) initieront une analyse supplémentaire concernant l’atteinte des objectifs d’apprentissage en français. Dans le cadre du projet Task Lab, le Centre de compétence sur le plurilinguisme...