Breadcrumb

Project management
Digital translation tools and dictionaries have become an indispensable part of language use. DeepL, Leo and Co. are used extensively and for various purposes, however, their benefits for foreign language teaching and learning remain contested. Some consider these tools to be of educational value, while others express their doubts on the sustainability of their contribution to language learning.

Project management

Supervision: Prof. Dr. Thomas Studer

When asked about their goals, students learning a foreign language generally say they want to speak the language. Despite the value placed on speaking, however, various studies on the foreign language competence of Swiss school students reveal that many learners have difficulty in meeting the learning outcomes set for spoken language (Peyer et al. 2016, Wiedenkeller/Lenz 2019).

Project management
Vocabulary is the basis for receptive and productive language use. Influential theories on second language acquisition and learning consider vocabulary and grammar to be complementary, rather than opposing elements of language. Vocabulary is viewed as an integral component of learner grammars that is worth promoting and consolidating in the foreign language classroom. In recent years, digitialisation has seen the development of many learning apps and platforms that provide new opportunities...

Mapping developmental profiles in early language learning at school

Assessment tools as a link between education standards, curricula, teaching and learning
Project management

Supervision: Thomas Studer, Wilfrid Kuster, Mirjam Egli (PHSG), Gé Stoks (SUPSI/DFA)

Team

Anna Kull, Thomas Roderer (PHSG), Daniela Kappler (SUPSI/DFA)

In collaboration with the University of Teacher Education St. Gallen (PHSG) and the Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI)  

Multilingual sequences in history lessons

Processes used to solve intercomprehension tasks and appropriate learner profiles
The goal of the project "Multilingual sequences in history lessons: processes to solve intercomprehension tasks and appropriate learner profiles" was twofold: First, the project adjusted worksheets designed in the context of materials development for improving intercomprehension at the secondary II level (reading texts in the source language in history lessons) for use in secondary school I. Second, the project aimed to shed light on key processes in text comprehension when reading an...

Language of origin and language at school

Are language skills transferable?
Project management
Team

Fabricio Decandio, Carlos Pestana (KFM), Magalie Desgrippes (UniFR)

The project "Language of origin and language at school: are language skills transferable?" was initiated to explore potential transfers between the language of origin and the language spoken at school in schoolchildren who attend heritage language and culture (HLC) courses. A particular focus was placed on reading and writing skills.

Project management

Scientific partner: 
Hansjakob Schneider, PHZH

The potential to learn foreign languages varies from one individual to the next and has been investigated by many researchers as of the early 1950s. Individuals’ ability to learn foreign languages relies on various elements that have been identified and grouped under the term language aptitude (ability to retrieve, identify and memorise sound sequences belonging to foreign languages, ability to identify meaningful common features etc.). Another area of the research focuses on emotional/personality...

Innovative forms of assessment

In-depth study on competence-based assessment of receptive skills
Project management
Team

(associated thesis project)

If the aim is to measure how well learners can actually use a foreign language, then competence-oriented testing with near-authentic tasks is the method of choice. There is, however, a need for renewal in the design of such test tasks, especially because real-world language use often uses electronic channels. Chat, Internet searches and the like are part of everyday life. In addition, computer-based testing has increasingly become the norm in recent years, especially in the field of...

Project management
This research overview focuses on differences between individuals when it comes to results in learning foreign languages in school. The aim is to identify and discuss studies about factors responsible for differences in the potential to learn foreign languages from one individual to the next as well as the various tools designed to evaluate them (MLAT, LLAMA, CANAL-FT, FLCAS etc.). The research overview will be structured around the following themes:

Fil d'Ariane

Direction de projet
Equipe
Les outils de traduction et les dictionnaires en ligne sont devenus des éléments indispensables dans l'utilisation des langues. DeepL, Leo et Cie forment des exemples connus d’outils employés activement par leurs utilisateurs à des fins diverses. Cependant, le rôle de ces outils dans l'enseignement des langues étrangères est contesté : d'une part, on considère qu'ils ont un potentiel pédagogique, d'autre part, on doute qu'ils puissent soutenir l'apprentissage des langues à long terme...

Direction de projet

Supervision: Prof. Dr. Thomas Studer

Lorsqu'on les interroge sur leurs attentes en matière d'enseignement des langues étrangères, les apprenant-e-s répondent généralement qu'ils-elles veulent apprendre à parler. Malgré cette grande importance accordée à l'expression orale, diverses études réalisées par le CSP sur les compétences en langues étrangères des élèves suisses montrent que bon nombre d'entre eux-elles ont des difficultés à atteindre les objectifs d'apprentissage, notamment en matière de production orale (Peyer...

Direction de projet
Equipe
Le vocabulaire est à la base de l'utilisation réceptive et productive de la langue. Dans les théories sur l’acquisition/l’apprentissage du langage et les approches didactiques dominantes, le vocabulaire, loin de s’opposer à la grammaire, est un élément constitutif central et intégré de la grammaire de l’apprenant-e. L’apprentissage et la consolidation du vocabulaire jouent donc un rôle important dans l'enseignement des langues étrangères, un domaine pour la mise en œuvre duquel les technologies...

Recensement de profils de développement dans l’apprentissage précoce des langues étrangères à l’école

Des instruments d’évaluation en tant que lien entre standards, programmes scolaires, enseignement et apprentissage
Direction de projet

Supervision: Thomas Studer, Wilfrid Kuster, Mirjam Egli (PHSG), Gé Stoks (SUPSI/DFA)

Equipe

Anna Kull, Thomas Roderer (PHSG), Daniela Kappler (SUPSI/DFA)

En collaboration avec la Haute école pédagogique de St. Gallen (PHSG) et la Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI)

Ilots de plurilinguisme en classe d’histoire

Processus de résolution d’une tâche en intercompréhension et profils individuels favorables à ce type d’activité
Direction de projet
Le but du projet « Ilots de plurilinguisme en classe d’histoire : processus de résolution d’une tâche en intercompréhension et profils individuels favorables à ce type d’activité » était double : (1) Il s’agissait d’une part d’adapter pour le secondaire I l’idée de fiches pédagogiques développées en 2009 dans le cadre d’un projet de création de matériel pour une didactique de l’intercompréhension (lecture de textes en langue source en cours d’histoire) au secondaire II, ainsi que (2)...

Langue d’origine et langue de scolarisation

Dans quelle mesure les compétences de littéracie sont-elles transférables ?
Direction de projet
Equipe

Fabricio Decandio, Carlos Pestana (KFM), Magalie Desgrippes (UniFR)

Le but du projet "Langue d’origine et langue de scolarisation : dans quelle mesure les compétences de littéracie sont-elles transférables ?" était d’investiguer les transferts potentiels entre la langue d’origine et la langue de scolarisation chez des élèves suivant des cours de langue et culture d’origine (LCO) dans des tâches générales de compréhension de texte/production écrite.

Direction de projet

Partenaire scientifique:
Hansjakob Schneider, PHZH

Le potentiel variable des individus dans l’apprentissage des langues étrangères a été le sujet d’étude de nombreux chercheurs dès les années 1950. Différentes composantes de  la capacité des individus à apprendre des langues étrangères ont ainsi été identifiées et regroupées sous le terme d’aptitudes à l’apprentissage des langues (capacité à extraire, identifier et se remémorer des suites de sons appartenant à des langues étrangères, capacité à identifier des régularités porteuses de...

Formes innovantes d’évaluation

Etude d’approfondissement sur l’évaluation des performances orientées sur les compétences réceptives
Direction de projet
Equipe

(projet de thèse associé)

Lorsque l’objectif consiste à mesurer la capacité réelle d’apprenants à utiliser une langue, la méthode à privilégier est le « testing » orienté sur les compétences, réalisé par le biais de tâches quasi-authentiques (tasks). La conception de ces tâches de test exige toutefois de nouvelles approches, surtout parce que la langue d’usage courant emprunte largement aux codes de la communication électronique. Chats, recherches sur internet et autres font désormais partie de notre quotidien....

Direction de projet
Cet état des lieux de la recherche se penchera sur les différences interindividuelles en ce qui concerne les résultats de l’apprentissage des langues étrangères à l’école. Le but est de recenser et discuter les études menées sur les facteurs explicatifs du potentiel variable des individus dans l’apprentissage des langues étrangères ainsi que les différents instruments développés pour les mesurer (MLAT, LLAMA, CANAL-FT, FLCAS, etc.). L’état des lieux de la recherche sera structuré selon...