Breadcrumb

Project management

Supervision: Prof. Dr. Thomas Studer

When asked about their goals, students learning a foreign language generally say they want to speak the language. Despite the value placed on speaking, however, various studies on the foreign language competence of Swiss school students reveal that many learners have difficulty in meeting the learning outcomes set for spoken language (Peyer et al. 2016, Wiedenkeller/Lenz 2019).

Project management

Direction (ad int.): Center for Teachers’ Language Competences (PHSG, SUPSI, HEP VD, UNIL)

Team

In cooperation with PH FHNW, PH Luzern and PH St Gallen

The aim of this project is the empirically-based development of assessments to test the profession-specific language skills in teachers of French, English and Italian as a foreign language in primary and secondary schools.

Mapping developmental profiles in early language learning at school

Assessment tools as a link between education standards, curricula, teaching and learning
Project management

Supervision: Thomas Studer, Wilfrid Kuster, Mirjam Egli (PHSG), Gé Stoks (SUPSI/DFA)

Team

Anna Kull, Thomas Roderer (PHSG), Daniela Kappler (SUPSI/DFA)

In collaboration with the University of Teacher Education St. Gallen (PHSG) and the Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI)  

Project management

Supervision: Thomas Studer

In the spring of 2017, the CDIP/EDK assessed for the first time the basic skills in the first foreign language of schoolchildren at the end of primary school. On the basis of this assessment, the “Passepartout cantons” (the six cantons on the French-German language border) are investigating how well the targets were achieved in French. The Research Centre on Multilingualism has the responsibility of developing test tasks for this purpose, and the project Task Lab was conducted in the...

Project management

Manfred Gross, Sabine Bietenhader (PHGR)

Project conducted by the University of Teacher Education Schaffhausen (PHSH) and the University of Teacher Education Graubünden (PHGR) Texts in the social sciences at schools are often difficult even for children with average scholastic abilities; weak learners or children who speak German as a second language are over-challenged. Consequently, internally differentiated texts – i.e. different versions of the same content – are necessary to create an inclusive learning environment....

Team

Vera Prosdocimo, Julia Valle, Yohan Bühler

In collaboration with the Federal Statistical Office (FSO)

Language courses for personnel in the Federal Administration

Evaluation and analysis of courses offered and their attendance
Team

Project conducted by the Università della Svizzera Italiana (USI)

In the interest of advancing multilingualism in public services, the Swiss Confederation is legally bound to promoting federal employees' language skills in Switzerland's official languages. The divisions within the Federal Administration are obligated to ensure that all employees have sufficient knowledge of a second official language and that persons in a leadership role additionally have passive skills in a third official language. To implement these directives, the Federal Administration...

This literature review aims to present an overview of scientific research on the social, political and linguistic issues of language census by analysing international works conducted in various sociopolitical and sociolinguistic contexts. The purpose is to highlight the complexity of documenting languages as required for each census when quantifying information on respondents’ language practices.

Project management
Team

Fabio Soares

This project aims to describe the development of productive writing skills in children with a Portuguese immigration background living in Switzerland (in the language of origin and in the language of instruction). It is based on data collected as part of the project Language of origin and language at school: are language skills transferable? (HLC) from the work programme 2011-2015 by the Research Centre on Multilingualism. The project will be divided into three stages:

Innovative forms of assessment

In-depth study on competence-based assessment of receptive skills
Project management
Team

(associated thesis project)

If the aim is to measure how well learners can actually use a foreign language, then competence-oriented testing with near-authentic tasks is the method of choice. There is, however, a need for renewal in the design of such test tasks, especially because real-world language use often uses electronic channels. Chat, Internet searches and the like are part of everyday life. In addition, computer-based testing has increasingly become the norm in recent years, especially in the field of...

Fil d'Ariane

Direction de projet

Supervision: Prof. Dr. Thomas Studer

Lorsqu'on les interroge sur leurs attentes en matière d'enseignement des langues étrangères, les apprenant-e-s répondent généralement qu'ils-elles veulent apprendre à parler. Malgré cette grande importance accordée à l'expression orale, diverses études réalisées par le CSP sur les compétences en langues étrangères des élèves suisses montrent que bon nombre d'entre eux-elles ont des difficultés à atteindre les objectifs d'apprentissage, notamment en matière de production orale (Peyer...

Direction de projet

Direction (a.i.) : Centre pour les compétences langagières des enseignants (HEP St.Gall, SUPSI, HEP VD, UNI)

Equipe

Coopération avec la FHNW, la HEP de Lucerne et la HEP de St. Gall

L’objectif de ce projet est le développement empirique de tests visant à évaluer les compétences langagières spécifiques à la profession des enseignants du primaire et du secondaire 1, pour les langues étrangères français et anglais.

Recensement de profils de développement dans l’apprentissage précoce des langues étrangères à l’école

Des instruments d’évaluation en tant que lien entre standards, programmes scolaires, enseignement et apprentissage
Direction de projet

Supervision: Thomas Studer, Wilfrid Kuster, Mirjam Egli (PHSG), Gé Stoks (SUPSI/DFA)

Equipe

Anna Kull, Thomas Roderer (PHSG), Daniela Kappler (SUPSI/DFA)

En collaboration avec la Haute école pédagogique de St. Gallen (PHSG) et la Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI)

Direction de projet

Supervision: Thomas Studer

Au printemps 2017, la CDIP fera évaluer pour la première fois les compétences de base des écoliers dans leur première langue étrangère, ceci à la fin de l’école primaire. Sur la base de ces données, les cantons impliqués dans le projet « Passepartout » (les six cantons situés à la frontière linguistique) initieront une analyse supplémentaire concernant l’atteinte des objectifs d’apprentissage en français. Dans le cadre du projet Task Lab, le Centre de compétence sur le plurilinguisme...

Direction de projet

Manfred Gross, Sabine Bietenhader (PHGR)

Projet de recherche mené par la Haute école pédagogique de Schaffhouse (PHSH) et par la Haute école pédagogique des Grisons (PHGR) Les textes dans les livres d’école sont souvent trop difficiles même pour des élèves de niveau moyen. Pour des apprenants plus faibles et des enfants pour qui l’allemand est une langue seconde, ces textes sont trop exigeants sur le plan linguistique. La mise à disposition de textes de niveaux différenciés est dès lors une nécessité pour une école inclusive....

Questions de langues et enquêtes statistiques

En collaboration avec l'Office fédéral de la statistique (OFS)
Equipe

Vera Prosdocimo, Julia Valle, Yohan Bühler

Depuis 2010, l’OFS récolte chaque année des données statistiques en utilisant en premier lieu les registres des habitants qu’il complète en procédant à des enquêtes par échantillonnage. De plus, l’OFS propose chaque année une analyse thématique approfondie sur un thème d’intérêt politique. En 2014, l’Office a réalisé pour la première fois l’étude : « Enquête sur la langue, la religion et la culture » (ELRC 2014) qui sera répétée tous les cinq ans.

Cours de langue pour les collaborateurs de l’Administration fédérale

Evaluation et analyse de l’offre et de son utilisation
Equipe

Projet réalisé par l'Università della Svizzera Italiana (USI)

La Confédération a pour mission, selon la législation en vigueur, d’encourager les compétences linguistiques de son personnel dans les langues nationales, afin de soutenir le plurilinguisme au sein du service public. Les unités administratives doivent veiller à ce que tous les employés de l’Administration fédérale possèdent des compétences suffisantes dans une deuxième langue officielle et que, de surcroît, les cadres aient des compétences passives dans une troisième langue officielle....

Direction de projet
L’objectif de cette revue de la littérature est de présenter un état des lieux de la recherche scientifique sur les enjeux sociaux, politiques et linguistiques du recensement des langues, proposant une analyse des travaux internationaux réalisés dans divers contextes sociopolitiques et sociolinguistiques. Il s’agit de mettre en évidence la complexité de l’exercice de documentation des langues que chaque recensement doit effectuer lorsqu’il cherche à quantifier des informations sur les...

Direction de projet
Equipe

Fabio Soares

Ce projet vise à décrire le développement des compétences productives à l’écrit d’enfants issus de la migration portugaise en Suisse (en langue d’origine et langue de scolarisation). Il se base sur les données récoltées dans le cadre du projet Langue d’origine et langue de scolarisation : dans quelle mesure les compétences langagières sont-elles transférables ? (LCO) du programme de travail 2011-2015 du Centre scientifique de compétence sur le plurilinguisme. Le projet se déroulera en...

Formes innovantes d’évaluation

Etude d’approfondissement sur l’évaluation des performances orientées sur les compétences réceptives
Direction de projet
Equipe

(projet de thèse associé)

Lorsque l’objectif consiste à mesurer la capacité réelle d’apprenants à utiliser une langue, la méthode à privilégier est le « testing » orienté sur les compétences, réalisé par le biais de tâches quasi-authentiques (tasks). La conception de ces tâches de test exige toutefois de nouvelles approches, surtout parce que la langue d’usage courant emprunte largement aux codes de la communication électronique. Chats, recherches sur internet et autres font désormais partie de notre quotidien....