Breadcrumb

Project management
Digital translation tools and dictionaries have become an indispensable part of language use. DeepL, Leo and Co. are used extensively and for various purposes, however, their benefits for foreign language teaching and learning remain contested. Some consider these tools to be of educational value, while others express their doubts on the sustainability of their contribution to language learning.

Project management

Supervision: Prof. Dr. Thomas Studer

When asked about their goals, students learning a foreign language generally say they want to speak the language. Despite the value placed on speaking, however, various studies on the foreign language competence of Swiss school students reveal that many learners have difficulty in meeting the learning outcomes set for spoken language (Peyer et al. 2016, Wiedenkeller/Lenz 2019).

Project management
Vocabulary is the basis for receptive and productive language use. Influential theories on second language acquisition and learning consider vocabulary and grammar to be complementary, rather than opposing elements of language. Vocabulary is viewed as an integral component of learner grammars that is worth promoting and consolidating in the foreign language classroom. In recent years, digitialisation has seen the development of many learning apps and platforms that provide new opportunities...

Project management
SWIKO is a multilingual learner corpus describing learner language according to principles of corpus-linguistics. The corpus is an umbrella project developed during the 2016–2019 research period and being further developed in the 2021–2024 period. It incorporates data from other projects at the Research Centre on Multilingualism. SWIKO can currently be accessed via a request to the Institute of Multilingualism.

WETLAND

Further development and applications of the Swiss learner corpus SWIKO
Project management
In line with the strong presence of usage-based approaches to language description and research in language acquisition, research in corpus linguistics has intensified and diversified in recent years. This applies equally to corpus-based and corpus-oriented research into language acquisition as well as to applied pedagogical research. Nevertheless, research gaps and desiderata remain. For instance, in regards to learner corpora, certain bias towards English as the target language, intermediate...

Project management

 

Team

Didactic partnership: Centres de Formation Professionnelle de l'Etat de Fribourg (CD-CFP) 

The aim of the DiCoi project is on the one hand to produce teaching material from recordings of authentic conversations (spoken language corpora) and on the other hand to describe the longitudinal development of interaction skills (over 2 years) from recordings of free interactions. Spoken language corpora can be used as a resource for foreign language teaching with the aim of providing exposure to the authentically produced but contextualised target language.

Project management

Project supervision

Literacy courses designed for adult migrants have been offered for decades in countries experiencing significant immigration. The recent past has seen an increase in research on the teaching and learning processes that are involved in successful and sustainable literacy development for adult migrants in a non-native language and that therefore should be taken into account in literacy classes; nevertheless, significant research gaps remain. Current practice in literacy development for...

Project management

Bruno Moretti, University of Bern (UniBE) and Osservatorio linguistico della Svizzera Italiana (OLSI)

Team

Sabine Christopher Guerra, Elena Pandolfi, Barbara Somenzi (OLSI)

Concluded at the end of 2013, the project "Italiano ricettivo" developed the teaching material Capito?, which is intended for use either in classroom settings or as self-study tools. The aim of  Capito? is the development of receptive skills in Italian, allowing learners to gain access to the language and culture of the Ticino (and Graubünden). Concentrating on receptive multilingual skills advances a form of communication based on mutual ability to understand one another and taps into...

Project management

Seraina Paul-Frischknecht (PH St. Gallen)

The aim of the current project it to evaluate the learning impact of an age-appropriate, feasible exchange setting (two short, direct interactions embedded in contact via e-mail and video) at the primary level in Eastern and Western Switzerland. The focus is placed on the motivation to learn a foreign language as well as on changes in the productive language skills of the school children.

Project management

Scientific partner: 
Hansjakob Schneider, PHZH

The potential to learn foreign languages varies from one individual to the next and has been investigated by many researchers as of the early 1950s. Individuals’ ability to learn foreign languages relies on various elements that have been identified and grouped under the term language aptitude (ability to retrieve, identify and memorise sound sequences belonging to foreign languages, ability to identify meaningful common features etc.). Another area of the research focuses on emotional/personality...

Fil d'Ariane

Direction de projet
Equipe
Les outils de traduction et les dictionnaires en ligne sont devenus des éléments indispensables dans l'utilisation des langues. DeepL, Leo et Cie forment des exemples connus d’outils employés activement par leurs utilisateurs à des fins diverses. Cependant, le rôle de ces outils dans l'enseignement des langues étrangères est contesté : d'une part, on considère qu'ils ont un potentiel pédagogique, d'autre part, on doute qu'ils puissent soutenir l'apprentissage des langues à long terme...

Direction de projet

Supervision: Prof. Dr. Thomas Studer

Lorsqu'on les interroge sur leurs attentes en matière d'enseignement des langues étrangères, les apprenant-e-s répondent généralement qu'ils-elles veulent apprendre à parler. Malgré cette grande importance accordée à l'expression orale, diverses études réalisées par le CSP sur les compétences en langues étrangères des élèves suisses montrent que bon nombre d'entre eux-elles ont des difficultés à atteindre les objectifs d'apprentissage, notamment en matière de production orale (Peyer...

Direction de projet
Equipe
Le vocabulaire est à la base de l'utilisation réceptive et productive de la langue. Dans les théories sur l’acquisition/l’apprentissage du langage et les approches didactiques dominantes, le vocabulaire, loin de s’opposer à la grammaire, est un élément constitutif central et intégré de la grammaire de l’apprenant-e. L’apprentissage et la consolidation du vocabulaire jouent donc un rôle important dans l'enseignement des langues étrangères, un domaine pour la mise en œuvre duquel les technologies...

Direction de projet

 

Equipe

Partenariat didactique : Centres de Formation Professionnelle de l'Etat de Fribourg (CD-CFP) 

L’objectif du projet DiCoi est d’une part de construire du matériel didactique à partir d’enregistrements de conversations authentiques (corpus de langue parlée) et d’autre part de décrire le développement des compétences d’interactions de manière longitudinale (sur 2 ans) à partir d’enregistrements d’interactions libres.

Direction de projet
SWIKO est un corpus d'apprenant-e-s multilingue qui utilise les principes de la linguistique de corpus pour décrire les processus d’acquisition de la langue. Initialement mis sur pied et réalisé au cours du programme de travail 2016-2019, SWIKO est un projet cadre qui connaîtra de nouveaux développements au cours de la période 2021-2024 et pourra intégrer des données provenant d'autres projets du Centre scientifique de compétence sur le plurilinguisme.

WETLAND

Développement et applications du corpus suisse d'apprenant-e-s SWIKO
Direction de projet
Alors que les approches basées sur l’usage telle la linguistique descriptive et la recherche sur l’acquisition sont très largement utilisées, la recherche en linguistique de corpus a connu un essor important au cours de ces dernières années. Ceci concerne tant la recherche sur l'acquisition des langues basée et orientée corpus que la recherche appliquée dans des domaines relevant de la pédagogie. Il reste pourtant des lacunes et des desiderata à combler.

Direction de projet

Supervision de projet

Les cours d’alphabétisation destinés au groupe cible constitué par les migrant-e-s adultes sont proposés depuis des décennies déjà dans des pays concernés par une immigration importante. La recherche sur les processus d’enseignement et d’apprentissage qui participent d’une alphabétisation réussie et durable des migrant-e-s adultes allophones, et dont il faut tenir compte dans les cours d’alphabétisation, a certes progressé ces dernières années mais comporte encore d’importantes lacunes....

Direction de projet

Bruno Moretti, Université de Berne (UniBE) et l'Osservatorio linguistico della Svizzera Italiana (OLSI)

Equipe

Sabine Christopher Guerra, Elena Pandolfi, Barbara Somenzi (OLSI)

Dans le cadre du projet « Italiano ricettivo », le développement du matériel didactique Capito ?, visant l’auto-apprentissage et/ou l’implémentation en cours de langue/formations, a été complété en décembre 2013. Le but de Capito ? est de développer des compétences réceptives de l’italien permettant une entrée dans la langue et les particularités culturelles du Tessin (et des Grisons), ce qui répond aux objectifs de mise en avant d’un plurilinguisme réceptif permettant une communication...

Direction de projet

Seraina Paul-Frischknecht (PH St. Gallen)

Le but de ce projet est d’évaluer l’effet de différents modes d’échanges linguistiques, adaptés au cycle primaire et aisés à mettre en œuvre (par exemple deux rencontres courtes associées à des contacts via messagerie électronique et vidéo). Le projet est mené dans des classes du cycle primaire en Suisse orientale et occidentale. L’analyse se concentre d’une part sur la motivation des élèves à apprendre et d’autre part, sur l’évolution des compétences langagières productives des élèves....

Direction de projet

Partenaire scientifique:
Hansjakob Schneider, PHZH

Le potentiel variable des individus dans l’apprentissage des langues étrangères a été le sujet d’étude de nombreux chercheurs dès les années 1950. Différentes composantes de  la capacité des individus à apprendre des langues étrangères ont ainsi été identifiées et regroupées sous le terme d’aptitudes à l’apprentissage des langues (capacité à extraire, identifier et se remémorer des suites de sons appartenant à des langues étrangères, capacité à identifier des régularités porteuses de...