Breadcrumb

Project management
Digital translation tools and dictionaries have become an indispensable part of language use. DeepL, Leo and Co. are used extensively and for various purposes, however, their benefits for foreign language teaching and learning remain contested. Some consider these tools to be of educational value, while others express their doubts on the sustainability of their contribution to language learning.

Project management

Supervision: Prof. Dr. Thomas Studer

When asked about their goals, students learning a foreign language generally say they want to speak the language. Despite the value placed on speaking, however, various studies on the foreign language competence of Swiss school students reveal that many learners have difficulty in meeting the learning outcomes set for spoken language (Peyer et al. 2016, Wiedenkeller/Lenz 2019).

Project management
Vocabulary is the basis for receptive and productive language use. Influential theories on second language acquisition and learning consider vocabulary and grammar to be complementary, rather than opposing elements of language. Vocabulary is viewed as an integral component of learner grammars that is worth promoting and consolidating in the foreign language classroom. In recent years, digitialisation has seen the development of many learning apps and platforms that provide new opportunities...

Project management
SWIKO is a multilingual learner corpus describing learner language according to principles of corpus-linguistics. The corpus is an umbrella project developed during the 2016–2019 research period and being further developed in the 2021–2024 period. It incorporates data from other projects at the Research Centre on Multilingualism. SWIKO can currently be accessed via a request to the Institute of Multilingualism.

WETLAND

Further development and applications of the Swiss learner corpus SWIKO
Project management
In line with the strong presence of usage-based approaches to language description and research in language acquisition, research in corpus linguistics has intensified and diversified in recent years. This applies equally to corpus-based and corpus-oriented research into language acquisition as well as to applied pedagogical research. Nevertheless, research gaps and desiderata remain. For instance, in regards to learner corpora, certain bias towards English as the target language, intermediate...

Project management

 

Team

Didactic partnership: Centres de Formation Professionnelle de l'Etat de Fribourg (CD-CFP) 

The aim of the DiCoi project is on the one hand to produce teaching material from recordings of authentic conversations (spoken language corpora) and on the other hand to describe the longitudinal development of interaction skills (over 2 years) from recordings of free interactions. Spoken language corpora can be used as a resource for foreign language teaching with the aim of providing exposure to the authentically produced but contextualised target language.

Project management

Project supervision

Literacy courses designed for adult migrants have been offered for decades in countries experiencing significant immigration. The recent past has seen an increase in research on the teaching and learning processes that are involved in successful and sustainable literacy development for adult migrants in a non-native language and that therefore should be taken into account in literacy classes; nevertheless, significant research gaps remain. Current practice in literacy development for...

Project management

Bruno Moretti, University of Bern (UniBE) and Osservatorio linguistico della Svizzera Italiana (OLSI)

Team

Sabine Christopher Guerra, Elena Pandolfi, Barbara Somenzi (OLSI)

Concluded at the end of 2013, the project "Italiano ricettivo" developed the teaching material Capito?, which is intended for use either in classroom settings or as self-study tools. The aim of  Capito? is the development of receptive skills in Italian, allowing learners to gain access to the language and culture of the Ticino (and Graubünden). Concentrating on receptive multilingual skills advances a form of communication based on mutual ability to understand one another and taps into...

Project management

Seraina Paul-Frischknecht (PH St. Gallen)

The aim of the current project it to evaluate the learning impact of an age-appropriate, feasible exchange setting (two short, direct interactions embedded in contact via e-mail and video) at the primary level in Eastern and Western Switzerland. The focus is placed on the motivation to learn a foreign language as well as on changes in the productive language skills of the school children.

Project management

Scientific partner: 
Hansjakob Schneider, PHZH

The potential to learn foreign languages varies from one individual to the next and has been investigated by many researchers as of the early 1950s. Individuals’ ability to learn foreign languages relies on various elements that have been identified and grouped under the term language aptitude (ability to retrieve, identify and memorise sound sequences belonging to foreign languages, ability to identify meaningful common features etc.). Another area of the research focuses on emotional/personality...

Pfadnavigation

Digitale Übersetzungsprogramme und Wörterbücher sind aus der Sprachverwendung kaum mehr wegzudenken. DeepL, Leo und Co. werden von ihren Nutzern rege und für unterschiedliche Zwecke eingesetzt. Die Rolle dieser Tools im Fremdsprachenunterricht ist indes umstritten: Einerseits wird ihnen ein pädagogischer Wert zugestanden, andererseits wird in Zweifel gezogen, ob sie das Sprachenlernen längerfristig und nachhaltig unterstützen können.

Projektleitung

Supervision: Prof. Dr. Thomas Studer

Werden Lernende nach ihren Erwartungen an den Fremdsprachenunterricht gefragt, so antworten sie zumeist, dass sie sprechen lernen möchten. Trotz dieses hohen Stellenwertes des Sprechens zeigen verschiedene Studien zu den Fremdsprachkompetenzen der Schweizer Schüler/innen, dass viele besonders im Sprechen Mühe haben, die Lernziele zu erreichen. Befragungen von Lehrpersonen wiederum haben ergeben, dass viele sich besonders bei der Beurteilung der mündlichen Fertigkeiten unsicher fühlen....

Wortschatz ist Grundlage für die rezeptive und produktive Sprachverwendung. In einflussreichen Spracherwerbstheorien und didaktischen Ansätzen steht der Wortschatz nicht im Gegensatz zur Grammatik, sondern ist zentraler und integrierter Bestandteil von Lernergrammatiken. Aufbau und Konsolidierung von Wortschatz sind daher ein wichtiger Aspekt des Fremdsprachenunterrichts, dem durch die Digitalisierung neue Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten geboten werden.

SWIKO ist ein mehrsprachiges Lernerkorpus, das den Spracherwerb von Lernenden nach korpuslinguistischen Grundsätzen beschreibt. Es handelt sich um ein Dachprojekt, das in der Forschungsperiode 2016-2019 entwickelt wurde, in der Periode 2021-2024 weiterentwickelt wird und Daten aus anderen Projekten des Kompetenzzentrums aufnehmen kann. Zugänglich ist SWIKO zur Zeit über eine Anfrage beim Institut für Mehrsprachigkeit.

WETLAND

Weiterentwicklung und Anwendungen des Schweizer Lernerkorpus SWIKO
Projektleitung
Parallel zur starken Präsenz gebrauchsbasierter Ansätze in Sprachbeschreibung und Spracherwerbsforschung hat sich korpuslinguistische Forschung in den letzten Jahren intensiviert und diversifiziert. Das gilt sowohl für die korpusbasierte und korpusorientierte Spracherwerbsforschung als auch für die angewandte Forschung in pädagogischen Kontexten. Forschungslücken und -desiderata gibt es allerdings nach wie vor.

Projektleitung

 

Team

Didaktische Zusammenarbeit: Berufsbildungszentren des Kantons Freiburg (CD-CFP)

Ziel des Projekts DiCoi ist es, einerseits didaktisches Material auf der Basis von Aufnahmen authentischer Gespräche (Korpus gesprochener Sprache) zu erstellen und anderseits die Entwicklung von Interaktionsfähigkeiten longitudinal (über 2 Jahre hinweg) auf der Basis von Aufnahmen freier Interaktionen zu beschreiben.

Projektleitung

Projekt-Supervision

Alphabetisierungskurse für die Zielgruppe der erwachsenen Migrant/innen werden in Ländern mit einer bedeutenden Zuwanderung bereits seit Jahrzehnten angeboten. Die Erforschung der Lehr- und Lernprozesse, die bei der erfolgreichen und nachhaltigen Alphabetisierung von erwachsenen Migrant/innen in ihrer Nicht-Erstsprache eine Rolle spielen und welchen in den Alphabetisierungskursen Rechnung zu tragen ist, hat zwar in den letzten Jahren zugenommen, weist aber noch bedeutende Lücken auf....

Projektleitung

Bruno Moretti, Universität Bern (UniBE) und Osservatorio linguistico della Svizzera Italiana (OLSI)

Team

Sabine Christopher Guerra, Elena Pandolfi, Barbara Somenzi (OLSI)

Im Projekt „Italiano ricettivo“ wurde bis Ende 2013 das Unterrichtsmaterial Capito? entwickelt, das sowohl für den selbstständigen Spracherwerb als auch im Sprachunterricht eingesetzt werden kann. Ziel von Capito? ist der Aufbau von rezeptiven Italienischkenntnissen, um so einen Einstieg in Sprache und Kultur des Tessins (und Graubündens) zu erlauben. Die Ausrichtung auf die rezeptive Mehrsprachigkeit fördert eine auf gegenseitige Verstehenskompetenzen gestützte Kommunikation und das...

Projektleitung

Seraina Paul-Frischknecht (PH St. Gallen)

Ziel des vorliegenden Projekts ist es, die Wirkung eines stufengerechten, mit vertretbarem Aufwand zu implementierenden Austauschsettings (zwei kurze direkte Begegnungen, eingebettet in einen Kontakt via E-Mail und Video) auf der Primarstufe in der Ost- und Westschweiz zu evaluieren. Dabei wird der Fokus sowohl auf die Sprachlernmotivation wie auch auf die Veränderung der produktiven Sprachkompetenzen der Schülerinnen und Schüler gerichtet.

Projektleitung

Forschungspartner:
Hansjakob Schneider, PHZH

Seit den 1950er-Jahren ist die individuell unterschiedlich ausgeprägte Eignung zum Sprachenlernen Gegenstand zahlreicher Untersuchungen. Verschiedene Bereiche der Fähigkeit der Individuen, Fremdsprachen zu lernen, wurden ermittelt und unter dem Begriff Sprachlerneignung (Fähigkeit, den Fremdsprachen eigene Tonfolgen zu erkennen, einzuordnen und sich anzueignen, Fähigkeit, sinntragende Regelmässigkeiten zu erkennen usw.) zusammengefasst.