Breadcrumb

Project management
Team

Scientific partner: Stefano Losa, Daniela Kappler, SUPSI-DFA

This research project performs a retrospective analysis of the challenges posed by Swiss multilingualism during the Covid-19 pandemic. Continuous communication with the population is necessary in times of crisis – indeed, communication is an essential aspect of crisis management, be it to provide information about the current situation, health issues and distancing rules, or to explain work-related rights and obligations, access to emergency financial aid, and even educational matters....

Project management

Supervision
Thomas Studer

Team

(Santi Guerrero Calle research manager till August 2021)

Comparatively little research has been conducted on how adult migrants – both those with low literacy skills (non-literates) and those who have competence in a non-Latin alphabet (non-roman alphabet literates) – acquire reading and writing skills, and scholarly findings on the subject are correspondingly sparse. This condition is all the more surprising as specialist discourse on the topic of “literacy levels in adults” has long revealed that traditional differentiations between so-called...

Project management

Project supervision

Literacy courses designed for adult migrants have been offered for decades in countries experiencing significant immigration. The recent past has seen an increase in research on the teaching and learning processes that are involved in successful and sustainable literacy development for adult migrants in a non-native language and that therefore should be taken into account in literacy classes; nevertheless, significant research gaps remain. Current practice in literacy development for...

Project management

Supervision: Thomas Studer

There is little verified, i.e. empirically based knowledge about how second-language courses should be best designed to meet the specific needs of adult learners in low-threshold language courses. The aim of this project was to integrate didactic elements that are promising particularly for learners without a strong educational background into a course design (including course materials) suitable for daily use. In addition, the actual effects and results were compared with a course design...

Language of origin and language at school

Are language skills transferable?
Project management
Team

Fabricio Decandio, Carlos Pestana (KFM), Magalie Desgrippes (UniFR)

The project "Language of origin and language at school: are language skills transferable?" was initiated to explore potential transfers between the language of origin and the language spoken at school in schoolchildren who attend heritage language and culture (HLC) courses. A particular focus was placed on reading and writing skills.

Italianità in the Internet: from cardboard suitcases to the web

A social history of the Italian language in German and French-speaking Switzerland
Project management

Sandro Cattacin, UniGE

Team

Irene Pellegrini, Toni Ricciardi
Scientific partner: Bruno Moretti, UniBE

This project aims to present a socio-historical reconstruction of the processes, characteristics and modalities that the Italian language (in its varieties) has undergone in the context of its linguistic contact and integration with German and French-speaking Switzerland.

Project management
Team

Fabio Soares

This project aims to describe the development of productive writing skills in children with a Portuguese immigration background living in Switzerland (in the language of origin and in the language of instruction). It is based on data collected as part of the project Language of origin and language at school: are language skills transferable? (HLC) from the work programme 2011-2015 by the Research Centre on Multilingualism. The project will be divided into three stages:

Pfadnavigation

Projektleitung

Dr. Claudia Cathomas, Flurina Graf, Institut für Kulturforschung Graubünden

Zwei Drittel aller Rätoroman:innen leben ausserhalb des rätoromanischen Stammgebiets, doch die spezifischen sprachlichen Bedingungen ausserhalb des rätoromanischen Sprachgebiets wurden bis anhin noch nicht umfassend erforscht.

Team

Wissenschaftlicher Partner: Stefano Losa, Daniela Kappler, SUPSI-DFA

In diesem Forschungsprojekt werden retrospektiv die Herausforderungen analysiert, welche die Schweizer Mehrsprachigkeit in der Gesundheitskrise COVID-19 mit sich bringt. Eine solche Ausnahmesituation erfordert eine permanente Kommunikation mit der Wohnbevölkerung.

Projektleitung

Supervision
Thomas Studer

Team

(Santi Guerrero Calle Projektleiterin bis August 2021)

Die Erforschung des Schriftspracherwerbs erwachsener Migrantinnen und Migranten sowohl ohne oder mit geringen literalen Kompetenzen (Analphabetinnen und Analphabeten) als auch mit Kompetenzen in einem nicht-lateinischen Schriftsystem (Zweitschriftlernende) weist nach wie vor grosse Lücken auf und wird vergleichsweise selten untersucht. Dies, obwohl aus der jahrelangen Fachdiskussion zum Thema ‘Literalitätsgrade Erwachsener’ hervorgeht, dass die herkömmliche Unterscheidung von sog. ‘Alpha-Typen’...

Projektleitung

Projekt-Supervision

Alphabetisierungskurse für die Zielgruppe der erwachsenen Migrant/innen werden in Ländern mit einer bedeutenden Zuwanderung bereits seit Jahrzehnten angeboten. Die Erforschung der Lehr- und Lernprozesse, die bei der erfolgreichen und nachhaltigen Alphabetisierung von erwachsenen Migrant/innen in ihrer Nicht-Erstsprache eine Rolle spielen und welchen in den Alphabetisierungskursen Rechnung zu tragen ist, hat zwar in den letzten Jahren zugenommen, weist aber noch bedeutende Lücken auf....

Projektleitung

Supervision: Thomas Studer

Es gibt wenig gesichertes, d. h. auch empirisch untermauertes Wissen darüber, wie der Zweitsprachenunterricht für das Publikum, das spezifisch in sogenannten niederschwelligen Sprachkursen anzutreffen ist didaktisch optimal gestaltet werden soll. Das Ziel dieses Projekts bestand darin, didaktische Elemente, die besonders bei wenig schulgewohnten Lernenden Erfolg versprechen, in ein alltagstaugliches Kurskonzept und entsprechende Materialien zu integrieren und deren Auswirkungen in der...

Herkunftssprache und Schulsprache

Sind Sprachkompetenzen übertragbar?
Team

Fabricio Decandio, Carlos Pestana (KFM), Magalie Desgrippes (UniFR)

Ziel des Projekts „Herkunftssprache und Schulsprache: Sind Sprachkompetenzen übertragbar?“ war die Untersuchung potenzieller Transfers zwischen der Herkunfts- und der Schulsprache bei Schülerinnen und Schülern, die Unterricht in heimatlicher Sprache und Kultur (HSK) besuchen, insbesondere hinsichtlich schriftlicher Rezeption und Produktion.

Italianità im Netz: Vom Kartonkoffer zum Web

Eine Sozialgeschichte der italienischen Sprache in der Deutsch- und Westschweiz
Projektleitung

Sandro Cattacin, UniGE

Team

Irene Pellegrini, Toni Ricciardi
Forschungspartner: Bruno Moretti, UniBE

Das Forschungsprojekt will Abläufe, Charakteristiken und Modalitäten geschichtlich und sozial rekonstruieren, durch welche die italienische Sprache (in ihren Varietäten) in die Sprachkontexte der Deutsch- und Westschweiz eingetreten ist und sich mit ihnen verbunden hat.

Projektleitung
Team

Fabio Soares

Im Rahmen dieses Projekts soll die Entwicklung der Kompetenzen in schriftlicher Produktion (in Herkunfts- und Schulsprache) von Kindern mit portugiesischem Migrationshintergrund in der Schweiz analysiert werden. Die untersuchten Daten stammen aus den Erhebungen für das Projekt Herkunftssprache und Schulsprache: sind Sprachkompetenzen übertragbar? (HSK) des Arbeitsprogramms 2011-2015 vom Wissenschaftlichen Kompetenzzentrum für Mehrsprachigkeit. Das Projekt wird in drei Phasen durchgeführt:...