Breadcrumb

Project management

Supervision: Prof. Dr. Thomas Studer

When asked about their goals, students learning a foreign language generally say they want to speak the language. Despite the value placed on speaking, however, various studies on the foreign language competence of Swiss school students reveal that many learners have difficulty in meeting the learning outcomes set for spoken language (Peyer et al. 2016, Wiedenkeller/Lenz 2019).

Project management

Direction (ad int.): Center for Teachers’ Language Competences (PHSG, SUPSI, HEP VD, UNIL)

Team

In cooperation with PH FHNW, PH Luzern and PH St Gallen

The aim of this project is the empirically-based development of assessments to test the profession-specific language skills in teachers of French, English and Italian as a foreign language in primary and secondary schools.

Mapping developmental profiles in early language learning at school

Assessment tools as a link between education standards, curricula, teaching and learning
Project management

Supervision: Thomas Studer, Wilfrid Kuster, Mirjam Egli (PHSG), Gé Stoks (SUPSI/DFA)

Team

Anna Kull, Thomas Roderer (PHSG), Daniela Kappler (SUPSI/DFA)

In collaboration with the University of Teacher Education St. Gallen (PHSG) and the Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI)  

Project management

Supervision: Thomas Studer

In the spring of 2017, the CDIP/EDK assessed for the first time the basic skills in the first foreign language of schoolchildren at the end of primary school. On the basis of this assessment, the “Passepartout cantons” (the six cantons on the French-German language border) are investigating how well the targets were achieved in French. The Research Centre on Multilingualism has the responsibility of developing test tasks for this purpose, and the project Task Lab was conducted in the...

Project management

Manfred Gross, Sabine Bietenhader (PHGR)

Project conducted by the University of Teacher Education Schaffhausen (PHSH) and the University of Teacher Education Graubünden (PHGR) Texts in the social sciences at schools are often difficult even for children with average scholastic abilities; weak learners or children who speak German as a second language are over-challenged. Consequently, internally differentiated texts – i.e. different versions of the same content – are necessary to create an inclusive learning environment....

Team

Vera Prosdocimo, Julia Valle, Yohan Bühler

In collaboration with the Federal Statistical Office (FSO)

Language courses for personnel in the Federal Administration

Evaluation and analysis of courses offered and their attendance
Team

Project conducted by the Università della Svizzera Italiana (USI)

In the interest of advancing multilingualism in public services, the Swiss Confederation is legally bound to promoting federal employees' language skills in Switzerland's official languages. The divisions within the Federal Administration are obligated to ensure that all employees have sufficient knowledge of a second official language and that persons in a leadership role additionally have passive skills in a third official language. To implement these directives, the Federal Administration...

This literature review aims to present an overview of scientific research on the social, political and linguistic issues of language census by analysing international works conducted in various sociopolitical and sociolinguistic contexts. The purpose is to highlight the complexity of documenting languages as required for each census when quantifying information on respondents’ language practices.

Project management
Team

Fabio Soares

This project aims to describe the development of productive writing skills in children with a Portuguese immigration background living in Switzerland (in the language of origin and in the language of instruction). It is based on data collected as part of the project Language of origin and language at school: are language skills transferable? (HLC) from the work programme 2011-2015 by the Research Centre on Multilingualism. The project will be divided into three stages:

Innovative forms of assessment

In-depth study on competence-based assessment of receptive skills
Project management
Team

(associated thesis project)

If the aim is to measure how well learners can actually use a foreign language, then competence-oriented testing with near-authentic tasks is the method of choice. There is, however, a need for renewal in the design of such test tasks, especially because real-world language use often uses electronic channels. Chat, Internet searches and the like are part of everyday life. In addition, computer-based testing has increasingly become the norm in recent years, especially in the field of...

Pfadnavigation

Projektleitung

Supervision: Prof. Dr. Thomas Studer

Werden Lernende nach ihren Erwartungen an den Fremdsprachenunterricht gefragt, so antworten sie zumeist, dass sie sprechen lernen möchten. Trotz dieses hohen Stellenwertes des Sprechens zeigen verschiedene Studien zu den Fremdsprachkompetenzen der Schweizer Schüler/innen, dass viele besonders im Sprechen Mühe haben, die Lernziele zu erreichen. Befragungen von Lehrpersonen wiederum haben ergeben, dass viele sich besonders bei der Beurteilung der mündlichen Fertigkeiten unsicher fühlen....

Projektleitung

Leitung (a.i.): Fachstelle für Sprachkompetenzen von Lehrpersonen (PH SG, SUPSI, HEP VD, UNIL)

Team

Kooperation mit PH FHNW, PH Luzern & PH St. Gallen

Ziel des Projektes ist die empiriegestützte Entwicklung von Prüfungen zum Nachweis der berufsspezifischen Sprachkompetenzen von Lehrpersonen der Primar- und der Sekundarstufe I für die Fremdsprachen Französisch und Englisch.

Erfassung von Entwicklungsprofilen im frühen schulischen Fremdsprachenlernen

Beurteilungsinstrumente als Bindeglied zwischen Standards, Curricula, Unterricht und Lernen
Projektleitung

Supervision: Thomas Studer, Wilfrid Kuster, Mirjam Egli (PHSG), Gé Stoks (SUPSI/DFA)

Team

Anna Kull, Thomas Roderer (PHSG), Daniela Kappler (SUPSI/DFA)

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Pädagogischen Hochschule St. Gallen (PHSG) und der Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI)

Projektleitung

Supervision: Thomas Studer

Im Frühjahr 2017 lässt die EDK erstmals die Erreichung der Grundkompetenzen in der ersten Schulfremdsprache überprüfen, und zwar am Ende der Primarstufe. Darauf aufbauend führen die „Passepartout“-Kantone (die sechs Kantone an der Sprachgrenze zur Romandie) eine Untersuchung zur Erreichung der Lernziele im Fach Französisch durch. Das Kompetenzzentrum für Mehrsprachigkeit ist dabei mit der Entwicklung von Testaufgaben betraut. In diesem Zusammenhang wurde das Projekt Task Lab durchgeführt....

Projektleitung

Manfred Gross, Sabine Bietenhader (PHGR)

Projekt durchgeführt von der Pädagogischen Hochschule Schaffhausen (PHSH) und der Pädagogischen Hochschule Graubünden (PHGR) Sachtexte in Schulbüchern sind oft selbst für durchschnittlich begabte Kinder zu schwer; für schwächere Lernende und für Kinder mit Deutsch als Zweitsprache sind sie sprachlich überfordernd. Binnendifferenzierte Sachtexte sind deshalb eine Notwendigkeit für eine inklusive Schule.

Team

Vera Prosdocimo, Julia Valle, Yohan Bühler

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bundesamt für Statistik (BFS)

Sprachkurse für Mitarbeitende der Bundesverwaltung

Evaluation und Analyse des Angebotes und dessen Nutzung
Team

Projekt durchgeführt von der Università della Svizzera Italiana (USI)

Der Bund hat einen gesetzlichen Auftrag, die Kenntnisse seines Personals in den Landessprachen zu fördern, um die Mehrsprachigkeit im öffentlichen Dienst zu unterstützen. Die Verwaltungseinheiten haben dafür zu sorgen, dass alle Angestellten der Bundesverwaltung über genügend Kenntnisse einer zweiten Amtssprache verfügen und dass Kadermitglieder zusätzlich auch passive Kenntnisse einer dritten Amtssprache haben. Zu diesem Zweck bietet die Bundesverwaltung ihren Angestellten eine sprachliche...

Diese Literaturübersicht soll den Stand der Forschung zu sozialen, politischen und linguistischen Herausforderungen von statistischen Erhebungen zu Sprachen vorstellen und internationale Studien analysieren, die in unterschiedlichen gesellschaftspolitischen und soziolinguistischen Kontexten verfasst wurden. Dabei soll die Komplexität der Dokumentation von Sprachen aufgezeigt werden, mit der sich jede Erhebung befassen muss, wenn sie Informationen zu Sprachpraktiken quantifizieren will....

Projektleitung
Team

Fabio Soares

Im Rahmen dieses Projekts soll die Entwicklung der Kompetenzen in schriftlicher Produktion (in Herkunfts- und Schulsprache) von Kindern mit portugiesischem Migrationshintergrund in der Schweiz analysiert werden. Die untersuchten Daten stammen aus den Erhebungen für das Projekt Herkunftssprache und Schulsprache: sind Sprachkompetenzen übertragbar? (HSK) des Arbeitsprogramms 2011-2015 vom Wissenschaftlichen Kompetenzzentrum für Mehrsprachigkeit. Das Projekt wird in drei Phasen durchgeführt:...

Innovative Formen der Beurteilung

Vertiefungsstudie zur kompetenzorientierten Leistungsbeurteilung im rezeptiven Bereich
Projektleitung
Team

(assoziertes Dissertationsprojekt)

Wenn das Ziel darin besteht zu messen, wie gut Lernende eine Fremdsprache tatsächlich verwenden können, dann gilt das sogenannte kompetenzorientierte Testen mit nah-authentischen Handlungsaufgaben (tasks) als Methode der Wahl. Bei der Ausgestaltung solcher Testaufgaben besteht allerdings Erneuerungsbedarf, besonders weil im tatsächlichen Sprachgebrauch viel über elektronische Kanäle kommuniziert wird. Chat, Internetrecherchen und Ähnliches gehören zum Alltag. Hinzu kommt, dass in den...