Breadcrumb

Project management
Digital translation tools and dictionaries have become an indispensable part of language use. DeepL, Leo and Co. are used extensively and for various purposes, however, their benefits for foreign language teaching and learning remain contested. Some consider these tools to be of educational value, while others express their doubts on the sustainability of their contribution to language learning.

Project management

Supervision: Prof. Dr. Thomas Studer

When asked about their goals, students learning a foreign language generally say they want to speak the language. Despite the value placed on speaking, however, various studies on the foreign language competence of Swiss school students reveal that many learners have difficulty in meeting the learning outcomes set for spoken language (Peyer et al. 2016, Wiedenkeller/Lenz 2019).

Project management
Vocabulary is the basis for receptive and productive language use. Influential theories on second language acquisition and learning consider vocabulary and grammar to be complementary, rather than opposing elements of language. Vocabulary is viewed as an integral component of learner grammars that is worth promoting and consolidating in the foreign language classroom. In recent years, digitialisation has seen the development of many learning apps and platforms that provide new opportunities...

Project management

 

Team

Didactic partnership: Centres de Formation Professionnelle de l'Etat de Fribourg (CD-CFP) 

The aim of the DiCoi project is on the one hand to produce teaching material from recordings of authentic conversations (spoken language corpora) and on the other hand to describe the longitudinal development of interaction skills (over 2 years) from recordings of free interactions. Spoken language corpora can be used as a resource for foreign language teaching with the aim of providing exposure to the authentically produced but contextualised target language.

Project management

Project supervision

Literacy courses designed for adult migrants have been offered for decades in countries experiencing significant immigration. The recent past has seen an increase in research on the teaching and learning processes that are involved in successful and sustainable literacy development for adult migrants in a non-native language and that therefore should be taken into account in literacy classes; nevertheless, significant research gaps remain. Current practice in literacy development for...

Mapping developmental profiles in early language learning at school

Assessment tools as a link between education standards, curricula, teaching and learning
Project management

Supervision: Thomas Studer, Wilfrid Kuster, Mirjam Egli (PHSG), Gé Stoks (SUPSI/DFA)

Team

Anna Kull, Thomas Roderer (PHSG), Daniela Kappler (SUPSI/DFA)

In collaboration with the University of Teacher Education St. Gallen (PHSG) and the Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI)  

Project management

Supervision: Thomas Studer

In the spring of 2017, the CDIP/EDK assessed for the first time the basic skills in the first foreign language of schoolchildren at the end of primary school. On the basis of this assessment, the “Passepartout cantons” (the six cantons on the French-German language border) are investigating how well the targets were achieved in French. The Research Centre on Multilingualism has the responsibility of developing test tasks for this purpose, and the project Task Lab was conducted in the...

Project management

Bruno Moretti, University of Bern (UniBE) and Osservatorio linguistico della Svizzera Italiana (OLSI)

Team

Sabine Christopher Guerra, Elena Pandolfi, Barbara Somenzi (OLSI)

Concluded at the end of 2013, the project "Italiano ricettivo" developed the teaching material Capito?, which is intended for use either in classroom settings or as self-study tools. The aim of  Capito? is the development of receptive skills in Italian, allowing learners to gain access to the language and culture of the Ticino (and Graubünden). Concentrating on receptive multilingual skills advances a form of communication based on mutual ability to understand one another and taps into...

Teaching text genres at secondary level I

An approach to integrate the foreign language (German) and the school language (French)
Project management
Team

Giulia Bierens-de-Haan (UNIGE)

Project conducted by the University of Geneva (UNIGE)

What Are the Best Forms and Necessary Conditions to Enable Exchange or Direct Contact for the Largest Number of School Children?

A study of the conditions for successful exchange based on perceptions and experiences for future teachers of foreign languages/cultures in compulsory schools
Project management

Susanne Wokusch, Rosanna Margonis-Pasinetti (HEP Vaud)

Despite the acknowledged benefit of language (and cultural) exchange at all school levels, the promotion of this instrument has had limited impact on exchanges actually conducted. The organisation and preparation of exchange and contact opportunities requires a considerable amount of extra work on the part of teachers; for them to consent to taking on such an effort, strong convictions and high motivation as well as institutional support are required.

Pfadnavigation

Digitale Übersetzungsprogramme und Wörterbücher sind aus der Sprachverwendung kaum mehr wegzudenken. DeepL, Leo und Co. werden von ihren Nutzern rege und für unterschiedliche Zwecke eingesetzt. Die Rolle dieser Tools im Fremdsprachenunterricht ist indes umstritten: Einerseits wird ihnen ein pädagogischer Wert zugestanden, andererseits wird in Zweifel gezogen, ob sie das Sprachenlernen längerfristig und nachhaltig unterstützen können.

Projektleitung

Supervision: Prof. Dr. Thomas Studer

Werden Lernende nach ihren Erwartungen an den Fremdsprachenunterricht gefragt, so antworten sie zumeist, dass sie sprechen lernen möchten. Trotz dieses hohen Stellenwertes des Sprechens zeigen verschiedene Studien zu den Fremdsprachkompetenzen der Schweizer Schüler/innen, dass viele besonders im Sprechen Mühe haben, die Lernziele zu erreichen. Befragungen von Lehrpersonen wiederum haben ergeben, dass viele sich besonders bei der Beurteilung der mündlichen Fertigkeiten unsicher fühlen....

Wortschatz ist Grundlage für die rezeptive und produktive Sprachverwendung. In einflussreichen Spracherwerbstheorien und didaktischen Ansätzen steht der Wortschatz nicht im Gegensatz zur Grammatik, sondern ist zentraler und integrierter Bestandteil von Lernergrammatiken. Aufbau und Konsolidierung von Wortschatz sind daher ein wichtiger Aspekt des Fremdsprachenunterrichts, dem durch die Digitalisierung neue Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten geboten werden.

Projektleitung

 

Team

Didaktische Zusammenarbeit: Berufsbildungszentren des Kantons Freiburg (CD-CFP)

Ziel des Projekts DiCoi ist es, einerseits didaktisches Material auf der Basis von Aufnahmen authentischer Gespräche (Korpus gesprochener Sprache) zu erstellen und anderseits die Entwicklung von Interaktionsfähigkeiten longitudinal (über 2 Jahre hinweg) auf der Basis von Aufnahmen freier Interaktionen zu beschreiben.

Projektleitung

Projekt-Supervision

Alphabetisierungskurse für die Zielgruppe der erwachsenen Migrant/innen werden in Ländern mit einer bedeutenden Zuwanderung bereits seit Jahrzehnten angeboten. Die Erforschung der Lehr- und Lernprozesse, die bei der erfolgreichen und nachhaltigen Alphabetisierung von erwachsenen Migrant/innen in ihrer Nicht-Erstsprache eine Rolle spielen und welchen in den Alphabetisierungskursen Rechnung zu tragen ist, hat zwar in den letzten Jahren zugenommen, weist aber noch bedeutende Lücken auf....

Erfassung von Entwicklungsprofilen im frühen schulischen Fremdsprachenlernen

Beurteilungsinstrumente als Bindeglied zwischen Standards, Curricula, Unterricht und Lernen
Projektleitung

Supervision: Thomas Studer, Wilfrid Kuster, Mirjam Egli (PHSG), Gé Stoks (SUPSI/DFA)

Team

Anna Kull, Thomas Roderer (PHSG), Daniela Kappler (SUPSI/DFA)

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Pädagogischen Hochschule St. Gallen (PHSG) und der Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI)

Projektleitung

Supervision: Thomas Studer

Im Frühjahr 2017 lässt die EDK erstmals die Erreichung der Grundkompetenzen in der ersten Schulfremdsprache überprüfen, und zwar am Ende der Primarstufe. Darauf aufbauend führen die „Passepartout“-Kantone (die sechs Kantone an der Sprachgrenze zur Romandie) eine Untersuchung zur Erreichung der Lernziele im Fach Französisch durch. Das Kompetenzzentrum für Mehrsprachigkeit ist dabei mit der Entwicklung von Testaufgaben betraut. In diesem Zusammenhang wurde das Projekt Task Lab durchgeführt....

Projektleitung

Bruno Moretti, Universität Bern (UniBE) und Osservatorio linguistico della Svizzera Italiana (OLSI)

Team

Sabine Christopher Guerra, Elena Pandolfi, Barbara Somenzi (OLSI)

Im Projekt „Italiano ricettivo“ wurde bis Ende 2013 das Unterrichtsmaterial Capito? entwickelt, das sowohl für den selbstständigen Spracherwerb als auch im Sprachunterricht eingesetzt werden kann. Ziel von Capito? ist der Aufbau von rezeptiven Italienischkenntnissen, um so einen Einstieg in Sprache und Kultur des Tessins (und Graubündens) zu erlauben. Die Ausrichtung auf die rezeptive Mehrsprachigkeit fördert eine auf gegenseitige Verstehenskompetenzen gestützte Kommunikation und das...

Unterrichten von Textgattungen auf Sekundarstufe I

Ein Fremdsprache (Deutsch) und Schulsprache (Französisch) integrierender Ansatz
Projektleitung
Team

Giulia Bierens-de-Haan (UNIGE)

Projekt durchgeführt von der Universität Genf (UNIGE).

Welche Modelle und Bedingungen für Austausch und Kontakt, um die grösstmögliche Anzahl von Schülerinnen und Schülern zu erreichen?

Eine Untersuchung der Erfolgsfaktoren unter Berücksichtigung der Vorstellungen und gelebten Erfahrungen zukünftiger Fremdsprachenlehrpersonen der Volksschule
Projektleitung

Susanne Wokusch, Rosanna Margonis-Pasinetti (HEP Vaud)

Auch wenn die Bedeutung von Sprach- (und Kultur-) Austausch auf allen Ebenen anerkannt ist, hat seine Förderung bisher nur begrenzte Wirkung auf tatsächlich realisierte Austauschaktivitäten gehabt. Aufbau und Organisation von Kontakt- oder Austauschangeboten sind mit einem beachtlichen zusätzlichen Aufwand für die Lehrpersonen verbunden. Die Bereitschaft, solche Anstrengungen zu unternehmen, setzt starke Überzeugungen, hohe Motivation und institutionelle Unterstützung voraus.