Breadcrumb

Project management

Supervision
Thomas Studer

Team

(Santi Guerrero Calle research manager till August 2021)

Comparatively little research has been conducted on how adult migrants – both those with low literacy skills (non-literates) and those who have competence in a non-Latin alphabet (non-roman alphabet literates) – acquire reading and writing skills, and scholarly findings on the subject are correspondingly sparse. This condition is all the more surprising as specialist discourse on the topic of “literacy levels in adults” has long revealed that traditional differentiations between so-called...

Project management
SWIKO is a multilingual learner corpus describing learner language according to principles of corpus-linguistics. The corpus is an umbrella project developed during the 2016–2019 research period and being further developed in the 2021–2024 period. It incorporates data from other projects at the Research Centre on Multilingualism. SWIKO can currently be accessed via a request to the Institute of Multilingualism.

WETLAND

Further development and applications of the Swiss learner corpus SWIKO
Project management
In line with the strong presence of usage-based approaches to language description and research in language acquisition, research in corpus linguistics has intensified and diversified in recent years. This applies equally to corpus-based and corpus-oriented research into language acquisition as well as to applied pedagogical research. Nevertheless, research gaps and desiderata remain. For instance, in regards to learner corpora, certain bias towards English as the target language, intermediate...

Project management

Project supervision

Literacy courses designed for adult migrants have been offered for decades in countries experiencing significant immigration. The recent past has seen an increase in research on the teaching and learning processes that are involved in successful and sustainable literacy development for adult migrants in a non-native language and that therefore should be taken into account in literacy classes; nevertheless, significant research gaps remain. Current practice in literacy development for...

Language courses for personnel in the Federal Administration

Evaluation and analysis of courses offered and their attendance
Team

Project conducted by the Università della Svizzera Italiana (USI)

In the interest of advancing multilingualism in public services, the Swiss Confederation is legally bound to promoting federal employees' language skills in Switzerland's official languages. The divisions within the Federal Administration are obligated to ensure that all employees have sufficient knowledge of a second official language and that persons in a leadership role additionally have passive skills in a third official language. To implement these directives, the Federal Administration...

Fil d'Ariane

Direction de projet

Supervision
Thomas Studer

Equipe

(responsable de projet jusqu'en août 2021)

Faisant l’objet de peu d’études en comparaison avec d’autre thématiques, la recherche sur l’acquisition de la langue écrite chez les migrant-e-s adultes, qu'ils soient peu ou pas alphabétisés (analphabètes) ou qu'ils aient des compétences dans un système d'écriture non latin (apprenant-e-s d'une langue seconde) comporte encore de grandes lacunes.

Direction de projet
SWIKO est un corpus d'apprenant-e-s multilingue qui utilise les principes de la linguistique de corpus pour décrire les processus d’acquisition de la langue. Initialement mis sur pied et réalisé au cours du programme de travail 2016-2019, SWIKO est un projet cadre qui connaîtra de nouveaux développements au cours de la période 2021-2024 et pourra intégrer des données provenant d'autres projets du Centre scientifique de compétence sur le plurilinguisme.

WETLAND

Développement et applications du corpus suisse d'apprenant-e-s SWIKO
Direction de projet
Alors que les approches basées sur l’usage telle la linguistique descriptive et la recherche sur l’acquisition sont très largement utilisées, la recherche en linguistique de corpus a connu un essor important au cours de ces dernières années. Ceci concerne tant la recherche sur l'acquisition des langues basée et orientée corpus que la recherche appliquée dans des domaines relevant de la pédagogie. Il reste pourtant des lacunes et des desiderata à combler.

Direction de projet

Supervision de projet

Les cours d’alphabétisation destinés au groupe cible constitué par les migrant-e-s adultes sont proposés depuis des décennies déjà dans des pays concernés par une immigration importante. La recherche sur les processus d’enseignement et d’apprentissage qui participent d’une alphabétisation réussie et durable des migrant-e-s adultes allophones, et dont il faut tenir compte dans les cours d’alphabétisation, a certes progressé ces dernières années mais comporte encore d’importantes lacunes....

Cours de langue pour les collaborateurs de l’Administration fédérale

Evaluation et analyse de l’offre et de son utilisation
Equipe

Projet réalisé par l'Università della Svizzera Italiana (USI)

La Confédération a pour mission, selon la législation en vigueur, d’encourager les compétences linguistiques de son personnel dans les langues nationales, afin de soutenir le plurilinguisme au sein du service public. Les unités administratives doivent veiller à ce que tous les employés de l’Administration fédérale possèdent des compétences suffisantes dans une deuxième langue officielle et que, de surcroît, les cadres aient des compétences passives dans une troisième langue officielle....